12.1 C
Tuesday, May 24, 2022

How do the UK Terror threat levels work?

- Advertisement -[aas_zone zone_id="10449"]
- Advertisement -[aas_zone zone_id="10449"]

Within the United Kingdom, there is a system in place which gives an indication of the likelihood of a terrorist attack based on threat levels.

The level that the UK sits at is set by The Joint Terrorism Analysis Centre. That group sit within MI5 and is completely independent of the government.

The threat level is reviewed each and every day based on intelligence or any active terror attacks currently happening.

The group looks daily at intelligence which is not related to political or motivations of the government to see if the threat level is lowered or raised.

The UK’s threat level has been high since the 29th August 2014 these levels have not dropped below Severe which means an attack is highly likely or critical meaning an attack is imminent.

Currently, the threat level within the UK is sitting back on critical meaning an attack is imminent.

This is based on the current intelligence available, and the number of active terror plots or subjects that are being monitored.

What are the five threat levels within the UK?

  1. LOW means an attack is unlikely
  2. MODERATE means an attack is possible, but not likely
  3. SUBSTANTIAL means an attack is a strong possibility
  4. SEVERE means an attack is highly likely
  5. CRITICAL means an attack is expected imminently
- Advertisement -[aas_zone zone_id="10449"]
Trevor Sherwood
Trevor Sherwood
Trevor Sherwood is the editor and news reporter covering national and international news crime and policing news. Tweet your news and views to @TrevSherwoodPH

Latest news

- Advertisement -[aas_zone zone_id="10449"]

Related news

- Advertisement -[aas_zone zone_id="10449"]